“A book is a dream that you hold in your hands”

After a very period at work, I finally had some spare time to help down at the library. I have been volunteering there for over 9 years now and I still very much enjoy it.

I offered to create a display in time for the summer reading challenge to add a pop of colour to the establishment. I searched Pinterest and discovered the idea of creating butterflies from old book pages. I cut out pages from a book I had previously read and added some colour using watercolour paints.

IMG_9250

I then made a large book from card and placed the butterflies so that they appeared to be flying out of the pages.

I wanted to represent the idea of books opening new worlds to readers and hope I have achieved this.

IMG_9249

Posted in Art

Leave a Reply

