Wedding Makeup

My friend got married a couple of weeks ago and she asked me to do her wedding makeup. I felt honoured to do so and immediately created a Pinterest board of ideas. She is naturally very pretty and does not usually wear much makeup, so the look needed to be subtle and polished.

I went makeup shopping with her and I trialled a look with which she was very happy. As we are friends, it was easy for us to discuss and make tweaks to particular elements.

On the day, she was glowing before any product was applied. Despite the expected nerves, I could see she was elated to be marrying her best friend. It was lovely to see and something I hope I will experience when my Prince Charming (or Captain Hook if you are a Once Upon a Time fan) shows up.

I applied primer to ensure the base stayed as long as possible with minimal touch-ups and then applied green concealer in areas where redness may have appeared. This was blended and foundation was buffed on top. I applied eyeshadow primer to the eyelids up to the brow bone and used concealer under the eyes and on any other required areas. The base is so important as this is what helps to create the flawless bridal look. I set the look with pressed powder and contoured using a powder palette. As the look needed to be as natural as possible, I opted for powder over liquid because of its subtlety. I then added bronzer to give a sun kissed glow and blusher to the apples of the cheeks.

For the eyes, I started with a nude shadow base and built up to a smokey silver look by adding greys, browns and, of course, silver. I used a brown waterproof pencil to line the upper lids and lifted this into a small flick. I then smudged this to suit the smokey look of the shadow. I lined the outer corner of the under eye and used white shadow as a highlighter in the inner corner of the eye and under the brow bone. I brushed out the brows and filled in any gaps with a brow pencil and brushed through again to maintain the natural look. For the lips, I used a nude lip pencil all over because this makes a great base for any lipstick. I then applied the lipstick with a brush for a more polished look and added gloss to the centre of the lips to add volume. Once the look was complete, I added final touches of highlighter. You may have noticed that I did not use mascara. This was because my friend had her eyelashes tinted and it was not necessary.

I was very happy with the final result and my friend looked absolutely beautiful. She made a gorgeous bride and I felt very lucky to have been an integral part of her wedding morning preparation.

IMG_8456

One thought on “Wedding Makeup

Leave a Reply

