Chocolate Bark

My family is very health conscious so giving an Easter egg for Easter is probably not the best idea. They like chocolate but only a little. I decided it would be an idea o create a series of fruit and nut chocolate barks.

I bought nice quality dark chocolate from Marks & Spencer and melted this down in six different batches. I added a mix of sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds, hazelnuts, cashew nuts, desiccated coconut, dried cranberries, pecans, pistachios and Brazil nuts and created six different flavours and poured the mixtures onto baking parchment into bar shapes. I left them to set for a few hours and, once set, I cut each bar into three pieces. I grouped them into six groups of three flavours and places onto cellophane. I tied the edges together with ribbon and double knotted them.

The end result was very kitsch and cute. They looked like thoughtful gifts and would be a much healthier snack than a normal chocolate bar.    

Leave a Reply

