Pumpkin Carving Competition

For the last four years, I have loved carving pumpkins. My friend, Phoebe, introduced me to the craft whilst we were both living in Germany.

I have carved a number of spooky designs and this year for my work’s competition, I decided to carve something a little more popular: Jack Skellington from Tim Burton’s ‘Nightmare Before Christmas.’

I drew the design freehand and gutted the pumpkin. I then started by skinning the pumpkin with a standard kitchen knife. Once the design was clear I carved deeper into the pumpkin to allow more light to filter through.

I was happy with my design and won the competition. It was a fun contest, which included a hilarious afternoon of judging by a senior colleague.

One thought on “Pumpkin Carving Competition

Leave a Reply

