Wedding Reception

Last night I went to a colleague’s wedding reception and the village hall was beautifully decorated with bunting and sunflowers. Everyone had a lovely time and danced till their feet hurt.

I thought, for once, I would write a beauty-related post. Throughout and after university, I worked on beauty counters and have an inherent interest in all things makeup.

When I go out for special occasions, I always start on my eyes first. I used tape to define the angle of my shadow and applied a primer to my lids. I then used a nude shadow to set the base. I defined the crease with a dark grey and ran this along the tape line and used a silver cream shadow on the lid and blended. I swiped a champagne cream shadow along the brow bone, dotted the inner corners of my eyes and then shaped my brows.

Next step was my base. I am not a big user of face primer because my skin is sensitive so I applied and buffed my foundation and concealed my under eyes and blemishes. I set my base with compact powder and applied bronzer under my cheekbones and on other facial contours. I then brushed blusher on the apples of my cheeks and blended.

I returned to my eyes and used a gel liner to create a wing and then coated my lashes in mascara. I lined my lips and swiped a generous helping of nude gloss. I then added false lashes and dabbed liquid highlighter along my cheekbones and brow bones.

Finally, the makeup look was created. For my hair, I clipped it up in a side chignon and paired the look with a champagne silk dress and silver heels.

I based my look a little on Once Upon a Time’s Emma Swan’s date with Captain Hook. I may not have found my fairytale, but it was so wonderful to see my colleague and her new husband very much in love and ready to start a beautiful life together…

Leave a Reply

