Fairy Doors

A few months ago, I voluntarily ran a class at the library for children to learn how to paint their own fairy doors. I was pleasantly surprised when both boys and girls joined the group. Throughout the two hour session, over 20 children painted their own unique door.

The doors were purchased from my favourite arts and craft shop, The Works. Nice as they were in a light wood with a golden handle, they were perfect for painting and individualising.

I painted my own example before the class, which was inspired by once of my favourite TV programmes Once Upon a Time and its magical enchanted forest. I used acrylics with very fine brushes and a minimal amount of water. I also added final touches with gold pen.

I was very pleased with the end result and the children were able to use it as a source of inspiration for their own creations. Mine now sits in my bedroom and I think the fairy doors make a nice addition to any decor. Who wouldn’t want to let a little magic into their lives?!

img_2787

Leave a Reply

