Roald Dahl-inspired display for my local library

I regularly volunteer at my local library and my latest project has been a display for the summer reading challenge. This is a national incentive to encourage children’s interest in literature. This year’s theme is the fantastical work of Roald Dahl and the 100 year anniversary of his birth.

I decided to design an enticing display for the children, recreating Quentin Blake’s illustrations myself. I created the iconic characters of Matilda, the BFG, Sophie, George, Alfie, Pelly, the Witch, the Fantastic Mr. Fox and Willy Wonka with watercolour and fine-liner pen.  I centred the characters around a large book as if they were jumping off the pages.

The library staff were really pleased with my work and I hope it encourages the children to complete the reading challenge.

Leave a Reply

